Twice in a Blue Moon - Christina Lauren

Twice in a Blue Moon

By Christina Lauren

  • Release Date: 2019-10-22
  • Genre: Contemporary

Description

From the New York Times bestselling author of The Unhoneymooners and the “delectable, moving” (Entertainment Weekly) My Favorite Half-Night Stand comes a modern love story about what happens when your first love reenters your life when you least expect it…

Sam Brandis was Tate Jones’s first: Her first love. Her first everything. Including her first heartbreak.

During a whirlwind two-week vacation abroad, Sam and Tate fell for each other in only the way that first loves do: sharing all of their hopes, dreams, and deepest secrets along the way. Sam was the first, and only, person that Tate—the long-lost daughter of one of the world’s biggest film stars—ever revealed her identity to. So when it became clear her trust was misplaced, her world shattered for good.

Fourteen years later, Tate, now an up-and-coming actress, only thinks about her first love every once in a blue moon. When she steps onto the set of her first big break, he’s the last person she expects to see. Yet here Sam is, the same charming, confident man she knew, but even more alluring than she remembered. Forced to confront the man who betrayed her, Tate must ask herself if it’s possible to do the wrong thing for the right reason… and whether “once in a lifetime” can come around twice.

With Christina Lauren’s signature “beautifully written and remarkably compelling” (Sarah J. Maas, New York Times bestselling author) prose and perfect for fans of Emily Giffin and Jennifer Weiner, Twice in a Blue Moon is an unforgettable and moving novel of young love and second chances.

Reviews

  • Nice second chance romance

    4
    By Susanmcqusie
    Tate Jones and Sam Brandis meet when traveling with their respective grandparents to London. They fall in love, but Sam disappears and betrays Tate in a very public way. Fourteen years later, Tate is a rising movie star and is arriving on the set of the movie that may take her career to Oscar level heights. Of course, as she walks onto the location, there is Sam, the writer of the screenplay for the movie. I loved the opening act of this book, the slow buildup to that first great love of Tate’s live. While the betrayal is pretty bad, there are enough breadcrumbs payed out that you can guess why Sam did what he did. What I had some problems with was the second part of the story. I thought parts of the second half were rushed and glossed over. If you a fan of second chance romance, you will enjoy this book. I received an ARC of this book from NetGalley for my honest review.
  • Second chance romance with a twist

    4
    By Ladydi232
    Twice In A Blue Moon starts out as a really sweet romance. Tate and Sam meet as teens while both are on vacation in London each with a grandparent. They immediately connect and find ways to be alone together, get to know each other and share their private selves. Their split is sudden and comes with a heartbreaking betrayal that sends Tate’s life off in a new, unexpected and unplanned direction. “It’s not like you won’t be disappointed regardless if nothing happens. I don’t know why people think permanent denial is better than temporary disappointment.” I loved the sweet romance between Tate and Sam. I really enjoyed the slow way that the time between their split and their reunion is eventually revealed and the twists involved. #NetGalley #TwiceInABlueMoon -4 Stars!-
  • Emotional!

    4
    By ~Mindy Lou~
    This was a lot heavier than I was expecting from this author duo. Everything I've read up to this point have been Romcoms. This one will really pull on your emotions. I viewed this more as a woman's fiction story instead of a romance. Only because it wasn't the romance that was the draw for me this time. Tate's character is what really had me pulled into this story. Tate has lived a very sheltered life, falls in love for the first time at eighteen years old, only to be immediately betrayed by that love. Tate’s struggle after that betrayal had a domino affect in her life. In fact it seems a lot of the women in this book have dealt with similar betrayal. It’s hard not to be effected by what they all have been through. When we first meet Sam, I adored him. His betrayal hit hard and felt morally wrong no matter the good reason he had to do it. I never really recovered the romance in the story after that. Part of that is I also didn't feel that Sam every truly earned her love back. Usually this would ruin a book for me, but I actually still very much enjoyed this book. That really says something about the writing if I can overlook the lack of romance that I initially read the story for. This is why it came off more as a womens fiction book. I really am a fan of the writing from this author duo. I think I could enjoy anything they write. I look forward to what they bring us next.

Comments