The Four Temperaments - Rudolf Steiner

The Four Temperaments

By Rudolf Steiner

  • Release Date: 1985-01-01
  • Genre: Psychology


Between individual characteristics and those of the human race in general lie the four main groups of human temperaments: phlegmmatic, sanguine, melancholic, and choleric. Rudolf Steiner describes how each person's combination of temperaments is shaped out of a particular kind of union between hereditary factors and the inner spiritual nature. Telling descriptions are provided for the inwardly comfortable phlegmatic, the fickle interest of the sanguine, the pained and gloomy melancholic, and the fiery, assertive choleric. Steiner also offers practical suggestions for guiding the temperaments educationally in childhood and for adult self-improvement.